清唱劇計畫

將清唱劇帶來臺灣

臺灣清唱劇計畫目標為將所有巴赫的清唱劇至少一次呈現在臺灣聽眾前。巴赫的清唱劇不僅是古典聖樂的珍寶,更是人類音樂歷史所留下一部無可取代的巨作。這些偉大的作品值得在任何地方、任何時間、任何文化中上演。當歐美國家的巴赫清唱劇全集不斷重複搬演與錄製,這些作品竟然不曾一次完整地在華人文化的地區呈現。若不是日本的努力,它們甚至不曾在亞洲被完整呈現!這是一個長期的計畫,甚願至少一次,每一部都能在臺灣演出;7首已經完成,剩餘202首。

如何執行

這個計畫中的演出使用現代樂器以及少數改良的現代樂器,同時使用現代的a=442音高。少數觸及聲樂以及管樂器的音高問題,我們以移調來處理。(幸好,巴赫碰到同樣問題時,也是移調處理。在巴洛克時代,移調並不是像現在一樣這麼嚴重的事情。) 舉例來說,我們所演奏的第54號清唱劇即是我們自己編訂的版本。

合作藝術家

臺灣清唱劇計畫一個很重要的元素就是以臺灣人為主來演奏。目前為止,我們已經與許多非常優秀的臺灣音樂家合作這個計畫,包括女高音張心梅、假聲男高音周文彬、男高音黃亞中、男中音蔡維恕、男中音姚盈任、雙簧管獨奏家王怡靜、小提琴獨奏家周子仁等;當然也包括樂團中優秀的室內樂演奏家與臺北巴赫合唱團的聲樂家們。

Cantata Project

Bringing Cantatas to Taiwan

This is a project to perform all Bach’s cantatas at least once in Taiwan. The cantatas of Bach is the pearl of classical sacred music or even of all music. The works deserve to be heard in any place in the world. While Bach cantata cycles are being done on recordings and being performed hundreds of times a year in American or European countries, never once had they been completely performed in a Chinese society. (Except Japan, not even once in Asia.) One by one, we would like to make all cantatas being heard on the island. 7 down, 202 to go : )

How Do We Do

The performances of the cantatas will be played on modern instruments and modified modern instruments, and mostly with the contemporary a=442 pitch. However issues with voice or wind instruments occasionally lead to transposition of the music. (Fortunately, Bach himself did this often. Transposition in the Baroque era was normally not a big issue as it is now.) For example, our Cantata No. 54 is performed with our own edition of score and parts edited by Wilbur.

Artists

One of our aim is to perform these great works by local artists. So far we have collaborated with several Taiwanese soloists of the top class including soprano Chang Hsin-Mei, countertenor Chou Wen-Pin, tenor Huang Ya-Zhong, baritone Tsai Wei-Shu, baritone Yao Ying-Jen, oboist I-Ching Wang, and violinist Chou Tzu-Jen, along with our outstanding chamber players of the philharmonic and singers from the Bach Choir.